NEVERWORNS
NEVERWORNS Conversations
How Important Is the Sound of Your Boot When It Hits the Ground?
8
0:00
-45:53

How Important Is the Sound of Your Boot When It Hits the Ground?

A conversation with stylist and consultant Mellany Sanchez about how details define our days.
8
When I think of the women Mellany saw at Dean & DeLuca…

I had a delicious time doing a #NEVERWORNS episode with Mellany Sanchez. For those who didn’t see the episode yet, Mellany is the consultant to know of New York (born and bred here), was the style soothsayer for Drake, and knows her way around a good suede Tom Ford-era Gucci jacket. I have had incredible conversations with Mellany and we realized that even though we filmed a 30 (!) minute #NEVERWORNS, there was so much more to be said, so we recorded a conversation in a pin-drop quiet room in the workspace The Malin. 

Mellany sent me a collection of photos that she keeps saved. The one in the middle is a woman in retail working by photographer and artist Stefan Panhans who we discuss. There's also tennis player Gabriela Sabatini top right, a Nike ad, Omahyra flicking her tongue ring, a topless Phoebe Philo on the couch, and Mellany looking at jewelry at New Top from a shoot we did for Vogue. One of the most tender is the couple in red by photographer Arlene Gottfried.

I’ll keep it short but something that Mellany opens up the conversation with is how a boot sounds when it hits the floor. (Mellany’s got an old school way of looking at clothes…my mom has told me this, too!) I can’t express how that full-bodied click-clack of a boot represents one of the most important components to Mellany’s attention to detail. “There’s some days I need to hear that sound when I walk and there’s some days, I’m in a sneaker and I need to keep it moving,” she says in our conversation. “There’s those days you wake up and I need to know where I’m going, I need to hear about it. It’s my own kind of on-the-move mood.” This heel-to-the-ground sound is symbolic of how we move about the world in our clothes, which means to genuinely live in them. And if we’re putting our clothes and accessories to use, we need to make sure our pieces are quality, not to flex wealth, but so that they can withstand the test of time…in style. 

Please tune in, it’s a total treat. A blueprint on details and how they dictate our days—and that applies to anyone’s style! Mellany talks about being shaped by collecting, the power of knowing your wardrobe, the women of Dean & DeLuca, a photography series by Stefan Panhans, how we hold our bags and what that means, how a key tray can define your day, the idea of “everyday aspirational”…and so much more.

Also, below, watch the #NEVERWORNS episode!

#NEVERWORNS! JUST DO IT.

8 Comments
NEVERWORNS
NEVERWORNS Conversations
Talking about nothing and yet everything.